Digital Public History Project (2): Revised Personas

To help properly gauge the audience my project aims to cater to, I have created two example personas that I believe encompass an accurate representation of an average person in my audiences. I originally created these personas according to an identified primary and secondary audience. After going through this module and discussing things with my professor, my audiences are more adjacent to each other rather than taking a ranked position. So this was the first big change, the consideration of my personas and my audiences in a closer relationship to each other than previously thought.

Furthermore, the revisions I will present also represent a shift in my approach to the desired outcomes of the project. At first, I wanted to present an exhibit retelling the accounts of the takeover event and conflicts occurring over Fort Lawton. Yet, my research has made it clear to me that this has been very well documented, including the perspectives of American Indians (though not perfectly). After further consideration, I have decided to change my focus to building a centralized repository of resources, information, and narrative accounts of key points during this event and also looking at the aftermath of the event and how political/racial relations have developed following the Fort Lawton Takeover. To meet this, my personas will have to change.

 

PERSONA #1: AIYANA REDBONE

Demographic: 26, female, American Indian, U.S. citizen, single, HS diploma, working class, household income of $38,530, lives in Seattle

Descriptive Title: Hardworking, dedicated, and committed to values

Quote: There is not a problem in the world that cannot be overcome with hard work

A Day in a Life Narrative:

I’m happy that I was able to finish high school and earn my diploma. It was a hard road, especially when I had to take time off to take care of my family. But my high school days are far behind me now. My time is taken up with trying to provide for my family and staying connected to my culture.

After my shift at the department store near the mall, I head home to help my grandma prepare dinner for my 3 siblings (two younger brothers and a younger sister) and our mom when she gets home. Since dad passed away, it has been really hard for mom and grandma to keep the house running. As the oldest of four kids, I feel like it is my responsibility to help care for the family. Once everyone is fed, I help my mom clean up the house and we all sit down to watch T.V. together. It is always a challenge to get the remote to watch my favorite shows, but I usually compromise. Before bed, I go back to my grandma’s room to help get her dress ready for the ceremony tomorrow. She follows the old ways and really wants me to start taking on more responsibilities, so I spend a lot of time with her so I can learn how to do things the right way. Once I finish with her and get back to my room, I realize I forgot to submit the rest of my material for college. Most of my family has only been to high school or received their GED. My mom was the first to earn a two year degree, but because I want to work for our people, I’ll need to go even higher. So rather than sleeping, I spend the rest of the night trying to write an essay that I struggle with because writing was never my thing. Still, I get it done–like I always do.

End Goals:

Desire to work in social services for Urban Indians so she can help offset the problems that she sees as having historical roots.

Help to increase accurate and respectful representation of marginalized Native communities; combat the racism she has constantly faced.

 

PERSONA #2: ROBERT CHIPPERFIELD

Demographic: 35, male, White, U.S. citizen, married, BA degree, middle class, married household income of ~$100,00, lives in Seattle

Descriptive Title: Just a regular guy

Quote: There is not a problem in the world that cannot be overcome with hard work

A Day in a Life Narrative:

Traffic is one of the worst parts about living in the city. Sometimes I dream of packing up and moving so I don’t have to deal with it anymore. Coming home from the company office can be more stressful than the actual work itself! But once I get home, I enjoy dinner with my family. My wife has a part-time shift at a local cafe and this allows her to pick up the children from school on her way home so we can all be together.

Every night I tell her of my day at work. As seems to be the trend with all our competitors nowadays, we’ve began new diversity initiatives to offset systemic issues. I studied these things in college and I am glad to see that we are taking it seriously. Still, I find it hard to relate to a lot of people and I have ever since I was little. I’m a bit of a nerd when it comes to research, so I usually hop on my computer after dinner and before bed. I enjoy studying the background and context before I commit to something, so if we are going to undertake new initiatives at work, it is good to have some foundational knowledge.

After concluding, I go to bed on time so I can get up early to take a job in the park and my surrounding neighborhood before getting back to that terrible commute.

End Goals:

Robert is a motivated and dedicated individual concerning things he is involved with, which means he feels the need to conduct research the undertakings in his work and personal life.

He takes advantage of community resources and is likely well versed in the area, thus he has an implicit interest in his surroundings and wants to be knowledgeable about what goes on around him.

About the author

Kyle

View all posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.